Night Shift is Over

I began working as a front desk agent on August 21st, 2014. If you’d truly like to know the name of the hotel, or can’t figure out where I worked, etc, ask. I’d rather not slander them. It was one of my most favorite moments in life, being behind the front desk. I adored answering phones and greeting guests. I loved fixing problems and feeling like it was rewarded with smiles, or the simple comfort of my guest. I truly fell into a comfortable step at the front desk with a lovely group of people that I still will continue to think of and pray for. I made a couple of friends there that I’ll probably never take off of my “references” list for new employers. I met people there that will continue to be friends.

Those friends will be invited to my wedding. Those friends will be in my prayers, hopefully for the rest of my life. Those friends taught me the secrets of the system at work. Those friends taught me when to speak, and when it was best to be quiet. A couple of those friends reminded me of the definition of “integrity”. Those friends showed me how to be a better employer, a better friend, a better learner, and a better person.

During that time of transition into the hotel, I never thought “I can’t do this”, which is a regular sentiment when I began a new job because its something new and its something that I don’t know how to “excel” at, right away. However, with a couple of great trainers, and a ton of positive energy from my way, I excelled. The hotel is owned by a stern, modern and innovative owner that is on his way to owning a good number of other hotels. It was a great group to work for that truly taught me a good amount. That same owner was commenting that the hotel was in good hands when my boyfriend, Chris, and I were working.

Unfortunately, towards the last couple of months that I worked there, there was a certain individual that just had such a negative energy, in general, but especially towards Chris and I as a couple that it was handsomely hurting us in all the wrong ways. We were struggling with the issue of working for this individual that was so intensely against us that we could feel her energy whenever we were around. So, we quit. Back to back, we quit. He quit on a Thursday, almost out of force, but mostly out of how the Universe was going to work, anyways.

That night we were roaming to the seaside town of St. Augustine to see a band that helped me fall in-love with him. The band that helped me through desperate times, of what I may call adolescent-agony, but a pain that was very real in the moment. Manchester Orchestra was playing and giving us good vibes on a Thursday night. We arrived late, we arrived with an open heart, we arrived.

I just held onto that word, “arrive”.

That word was first used in the 13th century, from a Latin that the dictionary describes as “vulgar”. The word is “arripare” which when translated into English literally means “to come to shore”.

Well, we were there. We were on shore in St. Augustine. The sea-salt was whipping around with the wind as we rocked alongside hundreds of others, listening to Andy Hull sing us into a lullaby. We were on shone because we had decided to take a jump into some very dark water. If you’ve read my blog, or know me intimately, Chris and I came together in an awkward time in my life. I was with a guy named Gurdeep. He was sweet, we had our differences, especially mentally and intelligence wise, so, when I met Chris I saw something.

I saw something so beautiful, that I almost cringed from the light. I couldn’t stand to look at Chris and not smile. I wasn’t able to keep from talking about Chris, when some commented that I had a crush on him, and instead I would comment that I was with Gurdeep and that’s that. But it wasn’t. The Universe, so damn beautifully, brought someone like me near a gorgeous guy like Christopher. And we fell. Hard.

We jumped, in fact. That’s how we still describe it. We’re happy that we jumped. Regardless of situations, or work (who we were pretty sure wouldn’t love the idea of two employees going steady), and social ideas of how “wrong” it is to fall for someone when you’re with someone else. But it was all right. Everything was right.

Chris and I fell in-love in St. Augustine. I think that’s where both of us can pin it, because hours after we returned from that place and I went to work and forgot my work shoes and he came by with the work shoes and his precious dog that still melts my heart, is when I first said (ACCIDENTALLY IN SAYING GOOD-BYE) that I loved him. I’ve never seen his eyes shine so bright or his smile so dopey and cute.

The hotel brought us to the shore. I had arrived as a new girl, with a big smile and ready heart to learn, and Chris had came back from another shore (Key West, I believe), and we met right there at the sandy, gritty shore of a budget hotel that didn’t pay us enough for everything we both did.

Which is, ultimately, why we left the good ol’ H. I loved that place, at one point, more than I had ever loved a job. But the seasons come in cycles, along with feelings and mentalities. I was disrespected heavily there, being a young girl with a pretty smile and an hourglass shape working night-shift treating young men (and old) to feel that they could make a pass at me. Chris was disrespected because as much as he did for the place, he wasn’t respected for it. All that all of us did on that team was taken advantage of. And it is quite unfortunate.

But we have both come out on top. I had a cool interview at another hotel. It didn’t work out, but I enjoyed the ability to have the interview. The Universe had something to do with that, too. He definitely put someone else that was better for the job there, since things in Gainesville aren’t where I need to be, anyways. Not to sound “selfish” or absorbed, simply hanging onto those faithful words that say everything will come together for my good (which, inadvertently is someone else’s good, as well).

Chris had a cool interview for a paid internship. Prayers there, please!

We both have jobs. We aren’t struggling. The summer is full of opportunity. And we are happy.

So, to say that I didn’t appreciate my previous job is quite incorrect. I’m so very happy that I was able to work with such a great team. And I’m happy to have met regulars, cool people from different countries with great accents, and to see my name on TripAdvisor was also swell. I’m thankful.

I am. I am. I am.

Leave a Reply

